Fun at a Book Signing

Standard

When I do a book signing or other author event, I usually take some art supplies along to demonstrate book folding techniques. Children in particular are willing to try making a folded form and sometimes write or draw in their book as well. This gives the adults time to look at my books and hopefully buy one or take a brochure. I truly enjoy working with the children. They are so delighted to learn something new.

Last Saturday, one 10 year old girl spent a half of hour with me, folding her book, drawing and writing a story. She decided on a Halloween theme and called her book, “Candy Bat,” an appropriate title. She used my small, stuffed bat I had on display as a sample for her drawings. Whenever, she became stuck with her story, I helped her by asking questions like, “And then what happened?” or “Do you want to use dialogue?”  I did sell a few books, but the best time I had was teaching book folding to young children.

About berylreichenberg

I am a storyteller. Writing and illustrating books for children, I have published over 35 titles. Three of my books, "Ants on a Log", "Camouflage", and "The Mysterious Case of the Missing Birthday Cake" have been published by a traditional publisher, Oak Tree Press. These are available from Oak Tree and Amazon as well as other outlets. The others are published by Blurb.com and can be seen on their website. Some of my stories are in prose and some in verse. All are designed for small children and young school children. My fiction stories are designed to delight these children and help them learn about themselves and the world around them. I also have a number of nonfiction books about animals, the natural world, and other cultures. I illustrate my stories with drawings and photographs. I hold a Master's Degree from UCLA and have taught school in California. I hope that young children and their adult companions will enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them.

2 responses »

  1. That’s so great that you allow time for the children to interact with you!

    That’s what I love about children’s book authors-
    They tend to be the most real and down to earth. (Besides most unappreciated in the world of literature, often they are most clever in their writing)

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

