A Small Step in a Long Process

Standard
A baby possum falls from his mother's back. How does he reunite with her?

A Children’s Picture Book – ages up to 8

My new children’s picture book, Lost in a Dark Forest, was finally sent to a publisher and I should receive a proof copy in a week. This is but a small step in the long process of writing, illustrating and publishing a book. Converting my files into PDF and emailing them was one of the last steps that started months ago when I began to write my story.

The idea for the story came from a friend of mine, who was caring for baby possums that fell off their mother’s back and were rescued. The story grew, after many revisions. Originally I titled it, Lost and Found, but decided on the present title as more appropriate. The main thrust of the story remained intact throughout the revision process. But I struggled with the illustrations and read and reread the story numerous times. Finally I changed the wording, put the story in the present tense and revised some of the sentence structure.

At times, I became sick of the whole process and had to put the story aside and work on other ideas. But alas, it is finally finished. Well, not finished. I still need to review the proof and see how the illustrations print. I know I have to fix at least one mistake I’ve noticed so far. There may be other mistakes or changes I’ll need to make as I look at the proof. I hope to have it out for sale soon.

About berylreichenberg

I am a storyteller. Writing and illustrating books for children, I have published over 35 titles. Three of my books, "Ants on a Log", "Camouflage", and "The Mysterious Case of the Missing Birthday Cake" have been published by a traditional publisher, Oak Tree Press. These are available from Oak Tree and Amazon as well as other outlets. The others are published by Blurb.com and can be seen on their website. Some of my stories are in prose and some in verse. All are designed for small children and young school children. My fiction stories are designed to delight these children and help them learn about themselves and the world around them. I also have a number of nonfiction books about animals, the natural world, and other cultures. I illustrate my stories with drawings and photographs. I hold a Master's Degree from UCLA and have taught school in California. I hope that young children and their adult companions will enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them.

Leave a Reply

